Standardized Testing Changes for Class of 2021

Real-time updates as the landscape changes

Standardized Testing Changes for Class of 2021

Standardized testing requirements and the college admissions landscape change frequently at the best of times — during the time of COVID-19, as colleges scramble to address an unprecedented lack of testing opportunities for high school juniors, those requirements are changing nearly on a daily basis. 

At Private Prep, we want our students and families to be as informed as possible about these changes so that they can ultimately make the best decisions about their test prep and college admissions plans. To that end, we have compiled new and noteworthy standardized test policy changes in a central place below. Please note that we are updating this as often as we can, but even so, changes are occurring with great frequency. We recommend checking back often!

Colleges that have gone SAT / ACT optional starting with the class of 2021:

Boston University (1 year only)

Case Western Reserve University (1 year trial)

Chapman University

Clarkson University

Davidson College (3-year pilot)

Oregon State University

Pomona College (1 year only)

Rhodes College (3-year pilot)

Santa Clara University (2 years)
Scripps College

St. Bonaventure University

Tufts University (3 year trial)

University of California system (all campuses — one year only)

University of Oregon

University of Redlands

Vassar College (for 1 year, then will review)

Williams College (1 year only)


Colleges that have announced changes to SAT Subject Test policies:

MIT — Subject Tests no longer considered as part of the application process

Harvard — students who do not submit Subject Tests this fall “will not be disadvantaged”


For a complete list of schools with test-optional and test-flexible policies, visit 

For other important information about college policy changes, specifically with respect to virtual visit opportunities and changed deposit deadlines, visit NACAC’s online tool. As always, we are here to help you navigate the quickly changing landscape. If you have any questions don’t hesitate to contact us.

Becky McGlensey